Image of a building. Diploma About the Academy American Academy of Health Care Providers in the Addictive Disorders

Certified Addiction Specialist (CAS) Certification



Boxes Minimum Eligibility Requirements

Boxes Certification Examination

Boxes Application Packet


Policy & Procedure Manual

Dear Health Care Provider:

On behalf of the Board of Directors of the American Academy, I am pleased to provide information about the Certified Addiction Specialist (CAS) certification offered by the American Academy of Health Care Providers in the Addictive Disorders.

The Academy currently has certified members in 48 states and 7 other countries comprising a diverse membership of psychologists, psychiatrists, medical doctors, social workers, counselors, and nurses. The Certified Addiction Specialist (CAS) credential is a clinical certification based upon experience providing treatment under the direction of a qualified clinical supervisor, specialized training, and a written examination. Specialization in the addictions resides within five categories of treatment activity: alcohol addiction, drug addiction, eating disorders, sex addiction, and gambling addiction.

Thank you for your interest in providing high quality, credentialed services in the addictions field. We look forward to working with you towards receiving the Certified Addiction Specialist (CAS) credential.

Best regards,

Elizabeth M. George
Chief Executive Officer